yoko

MOLOKO

Drawings & Paintings

ABOUT

Born in the year 1989 in Limoges, France. Yoko Moloko – her real name is Sarah Dudrut – studies history of art at the Poitiers University. Fascinated by the miticulous work on medieval manuscripts, her meeting with an illuminator will lead her to take the radical decision to end her university studies.

Looking to express herself in a more spontaneous way, she adds new technics to her skill set. Over time, she leaves pigments and parchment for pens and paper. She chooses to set up an amusing, poetic and quirky imagery, as a reminder to marginalia of medieval manuscripts.

In the year 2013, she moves to Angers in order to study medieval illumination. She learns how to use natural pigments, to work on parchment, to apply gold sheets and medieval drawing. Two years later, she becomes Enlumineur de France by realising a master piece based on Charles Baudelaire’s poems Les fleurs du mal.

Since 2016, she is based at Galerie WATT in Marseille, France. In this atypical place, she produces drawings, screen printings and watercolours.

EXHIBITIONS

CONTACT

EMAIL

yoko.moloko.pruno@gmail.com

ADDRESSE

Galerie WATT

27 Boulevard de la Corderie
13007 Marseille, France

CONTACT ME

yoko

MOLOKO

Dessins & Peintures

À PROPOS

Née en 1989 à Limoges, Yoko Moloko – de son vrai nom Sarah Dudrut – étudie l’histoire de l’art à l’Université de Poitiers. Fascinée par le travail minutieux sur les manuscrits du Moyen Âge, sa rencontre avec un enlumineur l’amène à prendre une décision radicale en mettant fin à ses études universitaires.

En recherche d’une expression plus spontanée et ancrée dans l’air du temps, elle intègre de nouvelles cordes à son arc artistique. Progressivement, elle délaisse pigments et parchemins pour stylos et papiers. Elle choisit de mettre en scène une imagerie amusante, poétique ou décalée, en forme de clin d’œil aux marginalia des manuscrits médiévaux.

En 2013, elle déménage à Angers pour étudier l’enluminure à l’ISEEM. Elle y apprend l’utilisation des pigments naturels, le travail du parchemin, la pose de la feuille d’or et le dessin médiéval. Deux ans plus tard, elle sort diplômée Enlumineur de France, en réalisant un chef d’oeuvre basé sur les poèmes des Fleurs du mal de Baudelaire.

Installée depuis 2016 à la Galerie WATT de Marseille, elle profite de ce lieu atypique pour produire dessins, sérigraphies ou encore aquarelles.

EXPOSITIONS

CONTACT

EMAIL

yoko.moloko.pruno@gmail.com

ADRESSE

Galerie WATT

27 Boulevard de la Corderie
13007 Marseille, France

TELEPHONE

06 87 05 73 89

CONTACTEZ-MOI